flotsam/jetsam


jimmycanuck, the Toronto sun, and the digg effect by jimmycanuck
September 17, 2006, 9:44 pm
Filed under: gaming

On Wednesday, September 14th, The Toronto Sun ran the following cover;

torsuncover1

As both a gamer and sensible human being, I was outraged. How could they print this garbage?!?! So I did what any angry Canadian would do. I wrote a letter:

To the Editor,
Your choice to use the caption “Video Game Killer” on the September 14th cover is some of the most irresponsible journalism I have ever witnessed. A video game is not a gun. A video game is not mental illness. To imply that a video game could in any way be responsible for the tragedy that occurred is just bad journalism. A game whose content involves the tragedy at Columbine is no different than that of a film or a newspaper detailing the same. The only difference is that video games are still a new media, and as such make for easy fodder when politicians and newspapers look to place blame on “what’s wrong with kids today.” Calling Kimveer Gill the “Video Game Killer” is about as responsible as calling him “The Toronto Sun Killer” if he had read about Columbine in your publication.

After I sent that I felt a little better, but still not good enough to let this go. So I decided to email a couple of the bigger gaming blogs (Kotaku, I’m looking at you) to let them know about this travesty of justice and to try and get them to help me get some sort of boycott/letterwriting campaign going. I also decided to throw it up on Digg and see if anyone bit. Kotaku I expected to hear back from, but Digg? I figured if I could get 3 or 4 diggs from people who might get mad enough to write their own letters, I’d have done my job.

When I woke up this morning, I was surprised to see that not 4, but 8 people had dug my article! Wow! 8! But that being the case, I figured it had just about peaked. Maybe if I was really lucky it would make it’s way to 10, maybe 12.

Then I logged on around noon. It was at 22.

And then 2pm. It was at 45.

Then it exploded.

From the time it took me to tell Hailea I had 45 diggs to the time I was able to refresh it jumped to 65. Then 85. Then 107. I had been promoted to Digg’s main page.

As I sit here and type this, we are now at 691 diggs and climbing. I’ve been blogged by some, criticized by others, and even had comments from a National Post writer who wrote a piece discussing the link between video games and the Montreal shootings.

I’m a hit.

My only question is this; will the Toronto Sun print my letter?

I don’t actually read The Sun, and since the Letters to the Editor don’t appear on their website, I may never know. If any of you happen to read The Sun or maybe get it at work, please fill me in. If they print my letter, maybe I’ll have to break my boycott and buy a copy.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Sounds like the sort of story the UK version of The Sun would print. Not sure if they are linked but both have the same name and both print tabloid shit.

Comment by becs

Just searching on google and found your site. It was ranked fairly high on google to. Anyway just looking around to see why.
thanks
jamie

Comment by Jamie




Leave a Reply

