flotsam/jetsam


Welcome to the new blog! by jimmycanuck
September 17, 2006, 9:38 pm
Filed under: blog news

I’m going to try and keep this short and sweet so that we can move on to the good stuff. It’s been a while since I had a blog that I felt was worth maintaining – as many of you know I’ve had a lot of false starts since my earlier success with Elvis Ate My Blog. The problem with those blogs was that most of them stopped being fun just moments after I put them together. Looking back, the reasons for that have become quite clear; I didn’t have the motivation, the vision, or the desire to keep a blog going at that point in my life. So many other things kept taking priority – life was a bit of a roller coaster this past year. But now that the train has finally pullled into the station and things are settling down, I’m finding that I have a lot I want to share with everyone. This blog is going to be my chance to do just that.

But what’s with all of this “Flotsam/Jetsam” nonsense?

Rather than having a title that is something plain or witty (both easy options), I really wanted something that represented the type of content I’d be sharing in this blog. And so the philosophy behind the name becomes quite simple:

flotsam; valuable debris from a shipwreck that finds its way to shore.

jetsam; valuable cargo jettisoned by sailors that finds its way to shore.

In the context of this blog, the flotsam will be the great bits of other peoples treasure I bring to you; pictures, oddities, news, etc.. The jetsam will be the things I jettison to you; the happenings, stories, and photos in my life.

I said I’d try to keep this short, so I’m going to have to cut myself off soon lest I make myself a liar. I’ve made some changes on the backend when it comes to how I manage and maintain a blog, so the chances of this one going the way of dodo are slim to none. If anyone has any questions, comments or suggestions I’d be happy to hear them. As a matter of facts, comments are encouraged and embraced. If you see something that interests you, please post a comment! It’s the only way I know that this thing is getting read.

Thanks to everyone for the ongoing encouragement – and enjoy the blog!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

