flotsam/jetsam


Pac-Man + flickr = AWESOME by jimmycanuck
September 19, 2006, 11:19 am
Filed under: flickr, gaming, pictures

pacman garbage can

I’ve always had an on again off again relationship with Flickr. I’ve never really disliked the site, but every now and then I get bored with it. Then something comes along and I find a reason to fall in love it again.

In this case, it was a Flickr group about Pac-Man graffiti in Ottawa. It turns out that someone has been spray painting Inky, Pinky, Blinky and Clyde all over the city — and someone thought to create a Flickr group dedicated to sightings of these nasty ghosties. It got me to thinking – I’ve seen a lot of Pac-Man graffiti on Flickr over the years, but this is the first time anyone has started a Flickr group completely devoted it. But this group had such narrow requirements – it had to be the ghosts, and they had to be in Ottawa. Sure, that’s a perfectly reasonable (and pretty clever) idea for a group, but what about all of the other pac-art and pac-pic’s floating around on Flickr without a home?

So I decided to do something about it – I created my very first Flickr pool, and Flickr’s very first all-encompassing Pac-Man Group, Pac-Man Everything. Administering a Flickr group has been a lot of fun, but I think Pac-Man Everything was a trial run in flickr group adminstration for me more than anything. I really enjoyed getting all of these pac-fan’s together (41 members and growing!) and I’m even somewhat of a closet pac-fanatic myself. But what I really want to do is create a photo pool that hits a little closer to home; it’ll be something that all of my friends here in town can contribute to, and it’ll utilize some of the more exciting features of Flickr that most of you don’t even know exist yet.

I think I’m going to have to leave you with that teaser. I should hopefully have the group up and running in the next few days. I hope you’re all looking forward to the big unveiling!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Cool. 🙂

Comment by landry

[…] Last week I posted about how I was putting together a new Flickr group that everyone in my local area could get involved with, and that would take advantage of technologies new to Flickr.  So, is everybody ready for the big unveiling? […]

Pingback by flotsam/jetsam




Leave a Reply

