flotsam/jetsam


How I traded 15 minutes of my life for $342 by jimmycanuck
September 29, 2006, 2:16 pm
Filed under: shopping

Mr. Spock on the old Canadian 5

I don’t get a lot of online junk mail. What I do get, I’ve usually asked for (sales flyers from places I’ve shopped, software updates I need to know about, etc..) When I opened up my inbox this morning, I noticed one particular piece of information that seemed to do me quite a lot of good in the end.

It turns out that Future Shop is having an after hours, online only sale this Saturday. As part of this sale, they’re offering 12% off all TV’s.

For those of you wondering why I shop at Future Shop, a situation like this arising is the very reason. Future Shop offers a Price Protection Guarantee, meaning if they lower the price anytime in the 30 days after your purchase, they’ll refund you the difference.

That being said, the sale was for 12% off the regular price of $2599, rather than the $2499 I paid. I worked out the difference between the two after the discount and expected to get around $200 in return. Of course, that’s if I could convince the customer service desk that I was in fact entitled to the money. With it being an online only sale, the store might have argued that it doesn’t really apply to them (and for the most part, they’d be right.) Despite this, I decided to go on down and try to slug it out with them anyways. After all, $200 is nothing to sneeze at.

When I arrived the cashier had the same concern I did about the online sale but wanted to try and push it through for me anyways, so she went to find a manager to get approval. Instead, she got something much better. It turns out (as she discovered when she had to look up the code for my TV) that in store, my TV is on sale right now for $2199! So she had no problem putting through a standard Price Protection refund for me, and for substantially more than I expected! $342 after tax!

Considering my mad spending ways lately, you might assume that I turned around and spent it all right then and there, but this wasn’t the case. I’ve kind of run out of things I want to buy! So it’s going in the bank, where my wife says it belongs.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

We’re we supposed to get, like, five posts on what you bought?? Am I crazy? Am I crazy, but correct?

Comment by jenifesto

Were we not supposed to get, like, five posts on what you bought?? Am I crazy? Am I crazy, but correct?

Comment by jenifesto

Department of Redundency Department over here… disregard one of the two posts.

Comment by jenifesto

You’re right, and the other two are coming. I just thought might appreciate a few other posts in between, little Jenny Three Times.

Comment by jimmycanuck

[…] When I arrived the cashier… read the rest on Jimmy’s blog here Published by Boo Radley September 30th, 2006 in Other / Canada […]

Pingback by Canadian Deals Blog - Canada's Freebies, Offers, Flyers, Coupons, Sales, Contests and Free Samples

866382 24725Dead written articles , appreciate it for entropy. 309528

Comment by uzBSsogsXu1E

I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here.
The sketch is tasteful, your authored subject matter stylish.
nonetheless, you command get got an impatience
over that you wish be delivering the following.
unwell unquestionably come more formerly again as exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this hike.

Comment by what is the paleo diet foods




Leave a Reply

