flotsam/jetsam


Gifts From The OSAP Fairie; Part 4 by jimmycanuck
September 30, 2006, 4:13 pm
Filed under: gaming, shopping

 

1407_Olive

I’ve had a few people nudge me and tell me it was time to get on with the last two installments of my “Gifts From The OSAP Fairie” series, so here we are.  Today, I thought I’d share the two purchases I made online.  You may remember a post from not so long ago about a new bag my wife picked up.  I closed the post with the words “New bags for all!”  That was my pathetic attempt at foreshadowing, since I knew this bag was in my near future.

Regardless of my gender, I’m a big fan of bags.  I have a lot of crap I like to carry around with me, so without a bag I’m always finding myself in situations where I wish I had something that I’d left at home.  Our camera would be the number one thing I find myself wishing was with me when it wasn’t, but there are more than enough times when I wish I had my DS, some music, etc..  So I’m always lacking in my high tech trickery!

I’m also a big believer in the right bag for the right job.  When I delivered pizza’s for a living, I needed a bag with magazine and book compartments, a place for my PSP, and somewhere to store drinks and food.  It took me a while to find exactly what I wanted, but when I did it was worth the wait.  Now I’m in a situation where I’m walking everywhere (we’re the no-car Joneses), taking a lot of pictures, and needing to remember the extensive lists of things I need to pick up (since repeat trips without a car suck the big fat one.)  As such, I really don’t need a big bag.  Something that could fit a few small electronic devices (mp3 player, camera, DS), a notebook, and maybe my cell phone and wallet.  Essentially, I needed a purse.  Unfortunately, finding a man-purse isn’t as easy as one might think.  Most bags you’d think of as a man-purse are larger shoulder bags that in both function and size are a lot like briefcases.  That’s way too big for what I need.  So I shopped and I shopped until my fingers couldn’t tell the difference between nylon and beef anymore, finally finding a bag that should fit my needs.

It’s a Manhattan Portage bag, which the buzz on the internet tells me is one of the most popular brands of messenger bag out there (it’s also the first brand of messenger bags – they brought them to the masses in the 70’s.)  Style #1407 – they call it the Urban Bag.  It’s 2.5 inches deep, and just a little smaller than your average piece of paper.  Sounds perfect for my situation! 

And yes, one could argue that it looks a little like a purse.  And no, I don’t care.  It’s the manliest thing I’m going to find in this size, and I really don’t think anyone is going to be muttering under their breath “Is that guy carrying a purse”?  So mock me all you want, but I think it’s ideal.  It’s being sent via UPS, so it should be here by Monday.

tengoku

The other thing I’ve ordered online is Rhythm Tengoku, a GameBoy Advance game from Japan.  It’s brought to us by the same team of people that created the WarioWare franchise (want to know more about WarioWare? Read what I’ve had to say.)  Plus it’s a rhythm game, which I love.  I’ve only imported one other rhythm game from Japan, Osu! Tatakae! Ouendan, and to this day it still ranks as one of my all time favourites.  Considering that Rhythm Tengoku can be best described as the “If They Mated” of Ouendan and WarioWare, I can’t believe I’ve waited this long to get it.  I’ve ordered it from YesAsia.com, my preferred source for importing anything.  It’s in the mail as we speak and should be here early next week.  I love how it takes less time to get a package from Japan than it does from the US.  That’s the US Postal Service for you.

Once I get some face time with Rhythm Tengoku and all of the other games and gadgets I’ve picked up, I’m going to try and get some reviews going.  I’ll try to get the final OSAP post up, the one with all the miscellaneous stuff that didn’t fit in the first four posts, in the next couple of days.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] Recent Comments Gloria on Hailea’s New bagflotsam/jetsam on Pac-Man + flickr = AWESOMEJenifesto on Ladies and Gentlemen… The Log Driver’s WaltzCanadian Deals Blog – Canada’s Freebies, Offers, Flyers, Coupons, Sales, Contests and Free Samples on How I traded 15 minutes of my life for $342flotsam/jetsam on Hailea’s New bag […]

Pingback by flotsam/jetsam




Leave a Reply

