flotsam/jetsam


Trifecta Tuesday! by jimmycanuck
October 3, 2006, 8:49 pm
Filed under: gaming, shopping

Trifecta Tuesday

Sometimes, if you time it just right, you’ll end up with a mail box crammed full of goodies all in the same morning. In addition to the new EGM (yes, I subscribe to a print magazine, how 20th century of me,) my copy of Rhythm Tengoku finally arrived! I haven’t had a chance to play it yet, but as soon as I do, you can expect a pretty solid review. I will however give a ten out of ten for the packaging, and not just for the bright and friendly box art, but for the free stickers inside! It was like opening a box of Corn Flakes and having the toy right on top!

Less surprising, and a tad more infuriating, was the arrival of my Manhattan Portage bag. Let me say up front that I do love the bag. It’s more than masculine enough for me to get away with wearing, it looks sharp, it’s made of Cordura (can we say durable?) and it’s got plenty of room despite being a perfectly tiny size. Now that I’ve gotten the praise out of the way, let’s get on with the scorn.

As you can see from the picture above, their “olive” doesn’t look a hell of a lot like the olive bag on their website (as you can see in my previous post.) The shipping was via UPS who felt it was appropriate to charge me $21.18 in customs fees, despite the bag only having a reported value of $19.50 as declared by Manhattan Portage in their customs paperwork.

“But Jim – it’s not UPS’s fault. Customs fees are controlled by the government.”

Well, you’re partly right. I half expected the possibility of having to pay some customs fees., but certainly not more than the value of the item I was importing. It turns out that the government agrees, just not UPS. In this case, the actual customs fees totaled $3.05, while the brokerage fee charged by UPS was $18.13. Bloody savages.

I can’t help but partially lay the blame at the feet of Manhattan Portage, as UPS is their only shipping option. I’ve never liked UPS, and I would’ve preferred standard mail and a two week wait to shoddy service and unexpected fees.

My third and final complaint is with the sneakiness of the Manhattan Portage return policy. As it turns out, international orders can’t be returned. So even if I was pissed enough about the colours not matching or the unexpected extra $21.18 I had to shell out, there’s nothing I can do about it.

I think there’s a letter in Manhattan Portage’s future.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

For all the aggro, you should have gone with something from MEC. Glad you like it inspite of all the UPS crappiness!

Comment by Jenifesto

sorry about your problems with manhattan portage. the company has been revamped and in control of original owners. original mp bags will soon be on johnpetersmanhattan.com

thanx

john peters,pres
manhattan portage
77 cornell st
kingston,ny 12401
845-339-2006

Comment by john peters

[…] Recent Comments john peters on Trifecta Tuesday!jimmycanuck on Deliciously Inappropriate For Children, But I Want It!Boo Radley on Deliciously Inappropriate For Children, But I Want It!Boo Radley on Deliciously Inappropriate For Children, But I Want It!Jenifesto on Deliciously Inappropriate For Children, But I Want It! […]

Pingback by flotsam/jetsam




Leave a Reply

