flotsam/jetsam


"Wouldn’t You Prefer a Nice Game of Chess?" by jimmycanuck
October 11, 2006, 10:47 pm
Filed under: gaming

I just came across this review on GamerDad for a game I’d only heard of in passing, and it totally has me leaking at the seams with excitement. For the purposes of this post, I’m going to have to assume that you’re familiar with WarGames. If you were alive during the 1980’s or have ever watched TBS on a Saturday afternoon, chances are you know it inside and out.

Well, remember “Global Thermonuclear War?” The “game” that a young Matthew Broderick starts to play not knowing it may lead to an actual all-out nuclear engagement between Cold War adversaries? Turns out a teensy little company named Introversion (recently made famous by their cult hit/indie success story Darwinia) has put out a game that is strikingly similar. Defcon: Everybody Dies appears to be, down to the last detail, the total WarGames experience. I’m going to be putting this at the top of my “to play” list, even though I’m still slogging through my recent video game bounty.

Just as a quick reminder for those of you who’ve had their brains fried from call center work and Cheez Whiz, here’s a shot from WarGames followed by a very similar one from Defcon.

Admit it – you’re dying for a copy of this. For the time being the game can only be purchased on their official website. Considering the kick ass prices they’re offering, I think we can consider this a good thing. If you’re at all interested, you can obtain a free demo by clicking here. Lord knows I will. If the demo is any good, I have just enough in my PayPal account to cover a boxed copy purchase with shipping.

The official website gleefully describes the game as “The World’s First Genocide’em up.” What’s not to love?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

About damn time someone did something like this. It looks SWEET!

Comment by MC




Leave a Reply

