flotsam/jetsam


What I’ve Been Watching… by jimmycanuck
October 13, 2006, 10:39 pm
Filed under: gaming, movies, tv

I’ve been sick for the past couple of days, and let me tell you, it sucks. The only good thing about being sick is it gives me a chance to catch up on TV. Having had the opportunity to play the demo for Defcon the other day, I was really hoping to spend the day in bed watching WarGames. Unfortunately my copy seems to have gone MIA, so I went for the next best thing.

Does anybody remember Cloak & Dagger? It’s a great little flick that falls into this weird family/thriller cross-genre. I must’ve watched Cloak & Dagger a hundred times when I was a kid, so when I saw it in a bargain bin last year, I didn’t think twice about bringing it home. And yet, I never got around to watching it – that is, until yesterday.

I was quite surprised to see it stood the test of time. For those of you unfamiliar (and I’ll assume almost all of you are,) Cloak & Dagger is about this kid that gets wrapped up in the world of Cold War espionage after witnessing a murder. And of course, like anything good in the world, it’s all about video games. The kid is given an Atari 5200 cartridge of Cloak & Dagger with a secret micro-chip inside with plans to build an “invisible bomber.” Anyhoo, I don’t want to ruin the movie for you, but if you ever see it in a bargain bin like I did, check it out.  (and for those of you that are already fans – want to know the true story behind the Cloak & Dagger cartridge?  Read it here!)

What else have I been watching during quarantine? Two things – Invader Zim and Heroes. A friend of mine over at SmartCanuck’s (Hi Raynygirl!) turned me on to Invader Zim – a wicked little cartoon about a pint sized invader and his mildly retarded robot on their way to world domination. It’s been around for five years, so I have no idea how this one flew under my radar for so long. I’m really, really enjoying it.

The only other thing that’s helped me pass the time was quite the large build up of new season shows I’d yet to tackle on my DVR. I decided to move my butt from bed to couch and finally try out Heroes. I’ve watched the first three episodes now, and I can honestly say that this is my pick for #1 new fall show. It has everything I could have ever wanted in a real people with super powers type show. It borrows liberally from great comic books with the same theme, like Rising Stars and Supreme Power, and it’s written by Jeph Loeb. Jeph fucking Loeb. If you don’t know who that is, I’ll let wikipedia explain it for you. Though on a side note, the entire time I was watching Heroes I was thinking to myself “I’ve never seen Lost, but I get the feeling that this show probably has the exact same fucking vibe. Maybe I should finally cave and try watching Lost.” And what does wikipedia inform me? Jeph Loeb was a writer and producer on Lost! Who knew?

That’s it for me in Sickyville. How about you folks – seen anything good lately?

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hope you get well soon Jimmy!
I know I’ll be watching Heroes very soon.

btw. I got your pm and I have a lot of useful stuff for you…
i was very very tired today after 2 long days of filling in tedious scholarship/funding applications so I’ll pm you my replies by tomorrow night or we can discuss it on the forum (easier i think)

have a good weekend 🙂

Comment by Boo Radley

off topic – can you make your page’s header/banner clickable? it’s not a big deal but i know some people are used to clicking on the banner to go to index

Comment by Boo Radley

Is that the movie where if he gets to like, level 50 or something, some shit goes down? I remember them putting this on for us to watch in school in like the first grade. No, I can’t imagine why either.

Comment by Jenifesto

Boo – Unfortunately wordpress.com doesn’t really let me mess with the code, so I can’t make the banner clickable. It’s one of my biggest pet peeves, and another reason why I’m thinking about hosting the site on my own (wordpress when not hosted on their site is quite flexbile.)

Jen – That’s the one! Nice to know someone that’s not me has see it. 🙂

Comment by jimmycanuck




Leave a Reply

