flotsam/jetsam


I Heart Bob Saget, I fear Ken Jennings by jimmycanuck
October 14, 2006, 10:30 am
Filed under: tv

bobsagetstamp

He’s the man who was awarded by Harvard’s Hasty Pudding Club solely for the line “I suck dick for coke.” He’s the man who, upon the birth of his daughter, introduced the newborn around with the phrase “I’ll let you finger her for a dollar.” He’s the man who wants to put a shoebox in his lap and give you all a puppet show. He’s Bob Saget.

For what must now be obvious reasons, I heart Bob Saget. That’s why I was quite pleased to see he’d be hosting 1 VS 100 on NBC. I watched the first episode this morning (god bless DVR) and discovered that, despite it being network TV and a relatively family friendly show, some of the true Saget shined through;

  • Contestant: Not many people would turn down $100,000 dollars.
  • The Saget: I know a girl who would.

Zing! Bobby boy at his finest. However, 1 VS 100 has a dark side, too. There is a ying to Saget’s yang, and that ying is Ken Jennings.

Ken Jennings. Longest standing Jeopardy champion ever. Ken Jennings. Smug, arrogant, evil. Ken Jennings. Creepy child predator.

Ok, so I made that last one up, but I swear to Christ, that guy looks like half of his brain is thinking about world domination and sharks with frickin’ laser beams attached to their foreheads and the other half is looking up elementary schools on Google Maps. He just sits there, 1 of 100, rubbing his little hands together and making these awful Lex Luthor golf claps. It makes me sick. He’s evil, pure evil, and he must be stopped. We must have faith in the Saget.

That being said, 1 VS 100 isn’t too shabby on it’s own merits. Despite it’s original premise, it feels a lot like Millionaire, only with a much snappier pace. If you’re bored on Friday nights, give it a shot, if only for the Sag.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I generally loathe Bob Saget, but he did a reasonable job and even got a few chuckles outta me. I hope the game sticks around past these five eps and gives him a chance to warm to the role.

Comment by Jebb




Leave a Reply

