flotsam/jetsam


So What’s Everybody Doing This Weekend? by jimmycanuck
October 14, 2006, 4:32 pm
Filed under: gaming, links

clubhouse games

I had a few good posts that I wanted to put together today but I seem to be lacking the motivation. So instead I’ve decided to turn the tables on you. What’s everybody doing this weekend?

I’m still not feeling too well, so most of my fun will be indoors. I think I’ll be spending some quality time with my DS. On the recommendation of Edgar from 4colorrebellion (aka CoffeeMan) I picked up Clubhouse Games, and so far I’m really digging it! It’s a compilation of over 40 games that range from Blackjack and Old Maid to Darts, Bowling and Mahjongg. Definitely my cup of tea. It’s the sort of title that’s clearly intended for WiFi play, so I’ll be hopping online with it later this afternoon to see how I do against some real competition.

I’ll also be spending a fair bit of time in front of the laptop. I want to finally take some time to check out Google Reader. I’ve tried to incorporate RSS Feeds into my life time and time again but they never seem to stick. Now that I’m listening to certain podcasts on a regular basis (Gaming Steve, DS:Life, and Angry-Gamer.net to be exact) I think it might be time to try again.

I also want to fiddle with our really shitty headset (it came free with a webcam but honestly, it could’ve come free in a box of Cracker Jacks) and see if I can’t get a 60-second review together for the folks over at DS:Life. I’ve been considering throwing together my own podcast in the near future, and having an excuse to fiddle with Audacity again might get me in the right frame of mind to start thinking about that a little more seriously.

Asides from all of this fun stuff, yes, I still have a paper to write. My head isn’t really in the right headspace for that just yet, so I’m hoping tomorrow I’ll wake up right as rain and be all over that paper like AIDS on a monkey. I’ll also be trying to get the heat turned on in here – early winter is cold!

And then on Sunday night I need to get to bed bright and early – Monday morning is Wii pre-order morning. All of my local EB’s will be opening early (8:30am), but if I want to stand a chance of getting one I’ll have to be in line as early as 5am. And even then, no guarantees. The worst part is I’ll be taking a cab out there, so from 5 until 8:30 I’ll be camped out in the cold. I’d better bring my DS, since I’ll finally have a legion of like-minded nerds to play with.

But enough about me – what are you up to this weekend?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Sorry, dude, I just read this now (monday morning). I was so wrapped up in the Nixon photo above I couldn’t scroll down, it would seem. I had a dinner party – which necessitated all day prep, and yesterday I did nothing.
Good luck with the EB games/Wii situation.
P.S. – Can I make guest appearances on your podcast. C’mon, I’m funny!

Comment by jenifesto




Leave a Reply

