flotsam/jetsam


Gameaholic/Shopaholic by jimmycanuck
October 19, 2006, 9:21 pm
Filed under: gaming, movies, shopping

NewGames 010

Another couple of weeks, another great haul of gaming goodness. I’ve had a pretty lucky run of it lately – adding to the stack of games to be played is one of life’s guiltiest pleasures, and lately my rekindled love affair with the DS has made it that much worse. Not due to any one thing in particular, mostly it’s been a combination of the quality titles available that I’ve yet to dive into and the lack of time in my life to commit to gaming in two or three hour stretches. Again, as promised before, I’ll be throwing up reviews of everything I’ve gotten just as soon as I’ve spent enough time with each title. And so, with that, a brief synopsis of what I’ve gotten, where it came from, and why I can’t stop buying great games.

Tetris DS – I started this little treasure trove of titles with a pick up of an old time puzzler reimagined for the DS. Well, reimagined isn’t necessarily the right word – “expanded” maybe? In addition to the standard “classic mode” we’ve all come to know and love, Tetris DS has packed in a number of different play modes, groovy Nintendo-themed environments, and kick-ass WiFi play. So far, so good. But is any Tetris without the kick-ass co-opted Russian anthems really Tetris?

Polarium & Break’em All – Next on the list were two titles I’d been wanting to try out, but that I didn’t want to pay the full price for, despite their budget pricing MSRP’s. Luckily, a nice fellow over in the Cheap Ass Gamer forums had a handful of titles he was looking to part with, so I got these at a real steal. Plus, I seem to have made a new net-buddy in the process. Hi CoffeeMan! The games just arrived in the mail the other day, so the only one I’ve had a chance to get some face time with was Break’em All. So far I’m really pleased with it. Arkanoid has been a personal favourite of mine from way back, so I’m a real sucker for the whole “ball meets brick, ball breaks brick, ball bounces back” thing. Coffeman’s got a few other games that have peeked my interest as well, so you may see another post like this as a result of our dealings shortly.

Club House Games – My new friend from CAG had turned me on to how wicked Club House Games was, so I had to give it a try. There are way too many different games on this cart to ever get bored, and playing on WiFi is even more fun. I played a few games of Soda Shake against a guy going by the name of ReggieF – could it really have been him? Probably not, but at least I have a story to tell my grandkids. 🙂

Trauma Center/Big Brain Academy – Just like Clubhouse, I have someone else to blame for getting off my duff and into the stores to buy these. I’d been wanting to play Trauma Center ever since it came out last fall, but as many of you know, finding a copy of this game is easier said than done. Even though a second printing happened this past summer, it still wasn’t stocked by many stores. I’d all but forgotten about it until I saw a copy at Toys’R’Us a few weeks ago, and even then, I’d felt like I’d moved past the craving to play it. That is, until I started listening to the DS Life podcast. Not a show goes by where one of the boys doesn’t mention it in some fashion, and I’ll be damned if it didn’t get me out and over to TRU to score a copy. While I was there, I decided to throw fiscal responsibility to the wind and grab a copy of Big Brain Academy. Having loved Brain Age, Big Brain Academy was definitely somewhere on my to buy list. Considering it was bargain priced to begin with, I figured I could bring it home and add it to the stack. So how are they? Big Brain is a bit of a let down when compared to Brain Age, but still, when taken on it’s own it’s a fairly competent little title. Trauma Center, on the other hand, is god’s gift to the stylus. It’s actually knocked Ouendan from the high pedestal I’d placed it on and easily become my number one DS title. I like it so much I’m considering getting the wii-make at launch.

Defcon: Everybody Dies – The fine folks over at Introversion have indulged my need for nuclear warfare. Review coming shortly.

Schindler’s List – Last but not least, what list of new gaming acquisitions would be complete without one non-game on the list? Earlier tonight, the wife sent me to the variety store to get some chocolate. Little did I know, a movie I’d been waiting to get my hands on forever was sitting right there on the used shelf. Just 10 measly dollars and this little bad boy was all mine. I’ll be making sure to enjoy this one on the new TV over the weekend after the little one has gone to bed. It’s one of my all time favourites, and yet I haven’t seen it in years. And just remember, no matter what you may think about watching the abject horrors of the holocaust for 3 and a half hours, it’s still funnier than Police Academy.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

hey jimmy,
sorry for not answering your website questions yet. I’ll do that very soon I promise. I have really interesting ideas for you.

Comment by Boo Radley

oh and since you’re a digg fan I have a useless but interesting topic you can post about and then put on digg.

The new Firefox 2.0 http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/2.0/releasenotes/
has a spell checker in forms which puts a red line under misspelled words. This news is already on digg. What’s interesting is that it thinks the word “google” is a misspelling! Very useless info i know lol but some people on digg like this junk news

Comment by Boo Radley

digg is a misspelling too but that’s sort of expected. The word google is very famous though

Comment by Boo Radley

ds:ƽ ܾQϸ궨 ޤͤˤʹʤ ͤξQϥȥ졼˥DS

ͤξQϥȥ졼˥
μΥեȤˤĤơ
dsϡѥΤ褦ˡǤСٶǤơŻǤƥ󥿡ͥåȤ⤦ΤǡȤ⤷Ȼפ

Trackback by /͵ྦʻͥ

home

home vbq home
home based businesses vbq home based businesses

Trackback by home

direct sex live online

direct sex live online nbj direct sex live online
web cam nbj web cam

Trackback by direct sex live online

forced sex pictures.net

Blog Records:dvd, forced sexComments…

Trackback by forced sex pictures.net

ja krevetko! Vsem sasat’!

Comment by gonzolder




Leave a Reply

