flotsam/jetsam


Sinus Infection = No Posts + Lots of TV by jimmycanuck
October 30, 2006, 11:26 am
Filed under: blog news, tv

1940's Little Lulu Kleenex ad

Remember how I was sick earlier this month? Well it looks like it came around for a repeat visit. Since about Thursday I’ve been pretty much bed-ridden with a wicked sinus infection that’s recently moved into my lungs. I know – how wonderfully graphic of me. Still, I felt like I owed you all a bit of an explanation for the lack of quality posts. For the first couple of days I tried to tread water and get a few posts out there, but in the end I just couldn’t hack it. Again – my apologies.

Now that I’m feeling a bit better, I think I can muster together another “what I’ve been doing while I’m sick” post – and just like last time, it’s mostly been re-discovering the joy of television. 😉

It’s amazing how much can build up on your DVR over the course of a new fall season. The latest series that I’ve finally gotten around to watching? Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip. I’d been pretty skeptical about it beforehand, and I’m glad – because it gave me a treasure trove of six episodes to get through all in one night! Ok, so I haven’t gotten through all six yet, but I have to admit – I wish I had. Much to my surprise, this has turned out to be a really good show. Even better than Heroes, which I didn’t think I’d be able to say about any new shows this fall.

Ok, maybe that’s not true – I’m enjoying 30 Rock more than Heroes too, but only because it’s a show that directly caters to what I think makes a brilliant comedy. It’s smart, it’s mean, it’s ridiculous – it’s perfect. Tina Fey is one of the best comedy writers out there today (don’t believe me? see Mean Girls) and Tracy Morgan is an absolute maniac in every sense of the word. 30 Rock is the first time anyone has let Tracy Morgan be Tracy Morgan on TV, and it totally works.

It’s funny – the two best shows this fall are – literally – about the exact same thing. Both 30 Rock and Studio 60 are parodies of working behind the scenes on SNL. Of course, where 30 Rock is just a straight up sitcom (filling the hole left in my heart by the passing of Arrested Development) Studio 60 is more of a funny evening soap. Either way, both great shows – definitely worth checking out if your not already watching them.

Anything else? Sure. Turns out I grew a vagina in the past few months. Not only do I know carry a purse, I’ve had my wife bring me flowers in the past few weeks AND…

…I’ve started watching Desperate Housewives.

I know, I know – it’s a crime against humanity. But you know what? Tough titty – I like it, and I’m going to have to learn that it’s ok to admit it. Hailea has been watching it from season one, and I refused to watch even a minute of it back then. Then in season two I caught a little bit here and there, and by the end of the season I even cared how it turned out. Now, in season three, they’ve done the one thing that any show could do to turn me into a faithful viewer – they’ve brought Kyle MacLachlan on as a main cast member. Kyle MacLachlan. Agent Dale fucking Cooper. A man can only avoid a show for so long, but when you start bringing Twin Peaks alum into a show, I’ve gotta watch.

I’ve actually started to go back to the beginning now – I’m working my way through the season one box set over the next few weeks so I can get all caught up. If anyone else out there is watching this, please, post in the comments and get my back! It’s a good show!

Nothing else of note I’ve been watching, but I have been lucky enough to get in a little game time when I’ve been feeling up to it. The wife got me back on to World of Warcraft with the promise that she knows a guy who might be able to get us into the Burning Crusade Beta (promise not yet delivered on) so I’ve been fiddling with that again. But the real game of note caught me quite by surprise. Last week, Best Buy had an insane deal – buy Splinter Cell: Double Agent for $59.99 ($10 off regular price) and get one year of XBox Live Gold free. Considering The XBox Live Gold goes for $59.99 on it’s own, and that I’d be needing to buy that again in April when my first year expired, that’s a deal I just couldn’t pass up. I’m glad I didn’t, because it turns out Double Agent is one of the best games I’ve played on my 360, hands down. Actually, I’ve had two great 360 experiences this week – the demo for Tony Hawk’s Project 8 surfaced on Live too, and I was really surprised at how good it was. I’ve had issues with the Hawk series for a number of years, and this demo really….

You know what? I’ll save that for another post. 😉

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

