flotsam/jetsam


Finally – Streaming Video to Our 360’s by jimmycanuck
October 31, 2006, 10:40 am
Filed under: gadgets, gaming, links, movies, news

Brand New Movie Camera

We all knew it was coming, and now it’s finally here. As of this morning’s Fall Dashboard update, we can officially stream video content from any PC in our home directly to our XBox 360’s.

For those of you that have no idea what I’m talking about, let me enlighten you a little. The 360, more than just a gaming machine, has always had some pretty groovy functionality when it came to interacting with your home network. From day one I’ve been able to stream audio from any PC in my home directly into every game I’ve got. So, for example, if I’m tooling around London in Project Gotham Racing 3 and I want to pop on anything from the Kill Bill soundtrack to the latest Angry Gamer podcast, I can do so with ease. Just a simple flick of the big center button and I can change the tuneage any time I wish. On top of that, 360 owners have also been able to stream pictures. It may not seem like the greatest feature, but when you’re having a birthday party for a two year old nothing beats having cute pictures of them streaming in HD for everyone to enjoy.

So with all of the above functionality, many of us have been waiting for the inevitable upgrade that would allow video to stream – and it’s finally here! It’s not all good news though.

You see, Microsoft is a little finicky. They don’t want to open it up to all of you lazy bastards out there who download movies instead of watching them the legal eagle way to get your fix on their box. So they’re only allowing certain file formats, like WMV, to work with their system. This has resulted in a lot of bitching and whining all over the internet this morning. What amazes me is that the same people downloading these films are supposed ot be the same people with enough basic know how to convert them into another format, like WMV. And so, for all you whiny bitches out there who don’t think they can watch their latest shaky cam copies of Over the Hedge, let me let you in on a little secret – WinAVI Video Converter.

It’s a simple one click solution that’ll convert whatever you’ve got into whatever you want. I tested it out this morning – and before you all go criticizing me for grabbing films the illegal way, let me assure you – I converted Torchwood, a show that will never come out on my side of the world that I’ve desperately been wanting to see. If there was a snowballs chance in hell it would ever come out here, I would’ve gone through proper channels. (EDIT: Ok – apparently I was wrong. Wikipedia informs me that Torchwood is a co-production with the CBC, so it will inevitably be showing up on my TV. But really – who wants to wait?)

It works great, but WinAVI Video Converter isn’t freeware, so expect to pony up the necessary fee. If anyone is aware of a freeware solution, please, let me know and I’ll be happy to post it up.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

