flotsam/jetsam


The 8 Greatest TV Openings of All Time by jimmycanuck
November 11, 2006, 12:03 pm
Filed under: lists, tv, youtube

It’s been feeling a little video gamey around here lately, so I thought I should try and break up the monotony with a little trip to TV Land.  And so without further adieu, I give you the 8 Greatest TV Openings of All Time, in no particular order, as picked by me.

 

Knight Rider

Did anyone catch The Hoff on America’s Got Talent?  Turns out he’s legally retarded.  How in the fuck did we not see that one coming?

 

Sesame Street

Despite the 8 million Sesame Street videos on youtube, apparently the only opening they had in English was the vintage 1969 one.  All the rest were in freaky European languages you’ve never heard of – like Swedish, and Dutch.  Don’t believe me?  See for yourself.

 

The Brady Bunch

Ever since I learned that Robert Reed died of AIDS, I’ve been calling it “a case of the Mike Brady’s.”  It may seem mean, but hey – that’s what you get for fucking around on Florence Henderson in bus station bathrooms.

 

Transformers

Giant. Fucking. Robots.  If you need to question why this is on the list, I hope your car turns into a gun-toting goliath of steel and glass and crushes your meaty little body during the transformation.

 

The A-Team

If I was a Vietnam vet on the run for a crime I didn’t commit, I’d go to Mexico and bang hookers like Willem Dafoe in Born on the Fourth.

 

The Flintstones

I don’t know who decided that turning a show about beating your wife into a stone age cartoon was a good idea, but if I ever find out I’m going to give that man a hug.

 

The Muppet Show

Seriously – what the fuck was Gonzo?

 

Doctor Who

“And the award for TV Opening Most Likely to induce Seizures goes to….”  Listen – it may be a trippy mess, but the opening to Doctor Who has one of the most memorable TV theme songs EVER.  I was lucky enough to stumble across this video on youtube that ties every Doctor Who opening, from first to last, together in one clip.  Enjoy!

 

Disagree with the list?  Let me know what you think.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow, Dr. Who was like watching Windows Media Player for 7 minutes. I both like and dislike the removal of the floating disembodied head. One one hand, smurfy. On the other, super kitsch cool. I don’t think they had the head of my favourite doctor (not that I watch the show, but Sam has that combined pic from Wiki on his desktop), the one I refer to as the Dandy Dr. Who. Paul McGann?

Comment by jenifesto

I still like the opening to the Equalizer… and I always will… and I do remember the opening for the Fall Guy quite well.

Comment by MC

I love the Doctor Who Video 🙂
Interesting how the graphics improve gradually over the years although I’d have to say some of the earlier opening are better than the current one. I like the original music which, thank goodness, they’re using in their present opening but I don’t like the new Doctor Who logo

Thanks Jimmy for sharing this 🙂
IMHO, your non-videogame posts are very unique and interesting to read. If you keep this up, expect 5000+ unique visitors a day within a year 🙂

Comment by Boo Radley

lol – that’s qute the backhanded compliment Boo, but thanks. 🙂

Comment by jimmycanuck

oh no, I’m sorry I didn’t mean to insult you in anyway.

First of all, I’d have to say that your writing style is splendid and unique. I read many great blogs but I’ve yet to come across a blogger that writes with your passion and eloquence.

Your game posts are awesome but to be honest, I feel saturated with all the gaming websites and blogs out there. That’s why I said that if you write about non-videogame related issues you can expect more visitors. Most blogs revolve around either politics, personal life only, or technology. Very few blogs write about interesting non-conventional topics like “20 Things You Didn’t Know About Sesame Street”, “I Heart Bob Saget, I fear Ken Jennings” and combine that with personal life and daily experiences and original commentary.

I enjoy reading your posts whether they’re about your gaming experience or your adventures with Aliens from Pluto 😉

Comment by Boo Radley

What about ANY of Gerry Andersons productions? Fireball XL5? Stingray? Thunderbirds?
I suggest you START AGAIN!

Comment by Tony




Leave a Reply

