flotsam/jetsam


Ladies and Gentlemen, the clown show has been put on hiatus for retooling. by jimmycanuck
December 7, 2006, 1:47 pm
Filed under: blog news

It’s been pretty quite around here lately, eh?  Sorry about that.  I’ve been busy, but that’s no excuse.  The truth of the matter is, I’ve spent the past week or so figuring out exactly what should be done with flotsam/jetsam.  I love writing this blog, and as near as I can tell, a lot of you enjoy reading it.  Unfortunately adding my duties over at bitsbytespixelssprites.com to my list of daily responsibilities means something had to be pushed out to make room, and as much as I didn’t want it to, it became f/j.  So like I said, I’ve been thinking about what the best course of action might be.  The easy thing to do would be to walk away, but despite my previous blogging efforts, that’s not my style anymore.  Rather than scrap f/j all together and focus on the other parts of my bloggerly life, I’ve decided it’s time for this place to have a makeover.  A major makeover.  As such, you won’t be hearing much from me over the next few months.  Sorry about that people.  My goal is to have everything up and running in the spring.  But what could possibly take that long to put together?  What will all of these changes be?

  • – we’ll be getting an actual domain
  • – we’ll be doing a complete visual overhaul – something original, not some template wordpress.com forced upon me.
  • – we’ll actually become a “we” – rather than being a blog written, managed, and mauled entirely by yours truly, I’ll be assembling a  team of like-minded miscreants over the next few weeks to help me bringf f/j into the 2007’s.
  • – we’ll be laying the groundwork for features that we’ll bring about in late 2007 – specifially podcasting and forums.

Now here’s where you come in.  I can’t do all of this alone.  I’m going to need an experienced Site Administrator.  I’m going to need someone who can give the site an original visual polish.  I’m going to need an artist who can work with that person.  I’m going to need writers.  Lots of writers.  Myself included, I’m going to be looking for 5 regular contributors, and as many quality guest bloggers who can pop in once a week as I can find.  Going forward, flotsam/jetsam is going to be a community effort.  If there’s anything you feel you’d like to help out with, any role you’d like to fill, send me an email and we’ll discuss it.

Even though the spitshine is different, the shoes will still be the same.  You can expect the same kind of pop culture oddities, irreverant humour, and nonsensical ramblings you’ve come to expect from flotsam/jetsam.  The only difference is you’ll be getting more of all of them. 

Thanks to everyone out there for making this one of the fastest growing on wordpress.com.   It’s going to be a quiet winter around here, but bundle up tight and I’m sure we’ll all pull through.  Here’s to hoping that the next time you hear from me, it’ll be with a new URL all our own.

  • Your Mom’s Box,
  • Jim Squires (aka jimmycanuck)
1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Great blog I have some one in mind that would be interested. Thank you.

Comment by Madeline Wheeler




Leave a Reply

