flotsam/jetsam


Don’t Buy This DVD Player – Digitec ALDV330 by jimmycanuck
October 27, 2006, 5:22 pm
Filed under: gadgets, reviews, shopping

digitec

I picked up this little nightmare at the recent Wal-Mart Anniversary Celebration, where it was introduced for the low low price of $24.76. Obviously I wasn’t expecting much from it – after all, you generally get what you pay for when it comes to electronics. If this thing had crumbled to dust after only six months of reliable spinning, I would’ve considered it money well spent. Falling apart after only two weeks though – not the best investment one could make.

I wanted to pick up a cheap DVD player because of my daughter. She loves watching her Elmo DVD’s, and I was getting pretty tired of lugging my PS2 upstairs every time she wanted to put one on. And so, it was to my great disappointment that the “Elmo Potty” DVD my daughter is hooked on right now became trapped in the player. After only a few weeks use, the unit’s ability to turn on and off got a little finicky. The only way I was able to get the unit powered back up to rescue the disc was to unplug it for a few minutes and plug it back in. This thing had bad news bears written all over it.

I took it back to the store and swapped it for another unit – same problem. I’m not sure who this Digitec is, but something tells me with this kind of quality we won’t be seeing them in Wal-Mart for much longer.

If you’re looking for a DVD player on the cheap, try anything but this one. It’s garbage with a capital G.


18 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I had the same problem with 2 of these dvd players. They would also freeze up while playing and stay on a single frame of the movie. After that, i couldn’t even load a movie anymore. I did some research on the brand Digitec and found out that Durabrand and a few other names are made by the same manufacturer. Stay away from this crap!!
I bought it for the low price as well, but never again. Lesson Learned!

Comment by Jon Robinson

My first died within a month – got a replacement. The second, it will autoplay, but stopped responding to the remote after a couple of uses. This also happened to a different bargain brand DVD from Wal-Mart that I sent to my parents – after maybe a dozen uses over time.

Comment by penniah

biggest piece of crap on the market WAL-MART should recall every one of these if of course they havent all completley been returned YET!
GARBAGE………………..

Comment by joe

Yup found out that the on off button is finiky, had to hit it once and wait 15 seconds to finally respond. If you pushed the button 2 or 3 times the memory for opening it up continues to run on and might open up or stay closed depending on the amount of times you hit the on/off button. Yes if the power is on too long then you have to unplug it to reset it. And yes, freezing occurs a lot. It sucked big time. Lost the receipt, and dont want to bother taking it back, but I wont buy another cheapie again, Nothing but a quick profit for this co. And I bet they made a pile.
CCC

Comment by cindy

well, i was curious as mine won’t recognize the dvd when inserted. so i cracked open the case, it has a sony laser, i can’t believe that mitsubishi & Funai can be bothered to market such garbage. mine is just over 6 months old

Comment by Eileen

It looks like the issue of hooking this up, has been solved. With the plethra of info, Im just going to pitch it. Id rather by one that the kids may break, that to have the thing eat the disk, not give up a rentaal and cause my blood pressure to rise. Having kids does that enought with out crap electronics contributing to my eventual stroke. Just was searching on how to hook it up to a Venture flat screen that already has satalight connected to it. Now no worries.
Gary
Niagara Falls, Canada

Comment by Gary

Apart from the freezing, Noise and general crappiness the last straw was the remote control going haywire. So I tried several different universal remote controls. Not one can find the code. Worst DVD player ever!

Comment by Toddius Maximus

Mine is still working pretty good after a year O_o

Comment by Marc

thank you for your article, this is the good information

Comment by dvdplayer

i didnt buy this i got it from the dump and its one of the best cheep or free dvd player i have ever owned 😛

Comment by dan hancock

and it works awseome amazing deal every one should go electronics bin lootin 😀

Comment by dan hancock

Ours lasted 3.5 yrs. The first one lasted 3.5 days :o)

Comment by Murray

the prices of Pioneer dvd players are dropping these days and they are quite a bargain*:-

Comment by PH Paper :

looking for a remote for mine, bought it used at a yard sale and I quite like it. Email me if you have one at moreauangela@yahoo.ca thx

Comment by Angela

Only kings, presidents, editors, and people with tapeworms have the rightto use the editorial “we”. — Mark Twain

Comment by yellow pages reverse phone

I feel this is one of the such a lot significant info for me. And i’m glad studying your article. But wanna commentary on few normal things, The web site style is perfect, the articles is actually great : D. Just right task, cheers

Comment by themypadmedia.com

i got mine from homehard ware should i take it back

Comment by nicole

have a TV can’t get any info as to where to get repairs

Comment by Mildred




Leave a comment