flotsam/jetsam


Gifts From The OSAP Fairie; Part 2 by jimmycanuck
September 27, 2006, 4:44 pm
Filed under: gaming, shopping

new games and dvd's

I really didn’t feel like I’d bought a lot of video games until I got them all together for this photo. How in the hell am I going to play all these?

Time to walk all of you non-gamers through this. Don’t worry, I’ll be gentle.

I’ve linked to the Gamespot reviews for each of the games mentioned here in case any of you want to know more. If you’re reading this and have a review site of your own that you’d like me to link to in the future, just let me know and I’d be happy to take a look. Fuck Gamespot. 😉

Guitar Hero – I actually picked this one up a few days before the OSAP arrived, but considering I bought it with overdraft that the OSAP repaid I figure it belongs on the list. For those of you that remember my Taiko Drum Master obsession last year, consider this its natural evolution. It’s a brilliant rhythm game with a guitar controller and a kick ass soundtrack. Probably the most fun I’ve had on my PS2. Can’t wait for the sequel this fall.

Zelda: The Wind Waker/Star Wars: KOTOR – Being some of the top sellers on both of their respective systems, neither of these games really need any introduction. I used to own a copy of each (KOTOR being my favourite game on the XBox 1.) However, I leant them to a friend last year whose little brother mangled them beyond playability. Being a non-gamer and an out-of-towner to boot, she hasn’t been too lucky in finding copies to replace the damaged ones. So I thought I’d go ahead and do it for her. She’s been kind enough to agree to paypal me the cost, so now all I have to do is get off my lazy ass and change my paypal address (I’ve gone totally web based for e-mail since the move, so I’ve been slowly but surely updating everything that matters from my old ISP-based e-mail to my gmail.)

Pac’n’Roll – It’s Pac-Man, he rolls. The title says it all.

Fight Night Round 3 – I’ve been waiting for a price drop (or a cheap used find) on this title for ages. Also, with the HDTV in the hizzy, I’ve been wanting to score a copy knowing that nothing looks better on the 360. Luckily, I was able to score it for the HD setup at a cheap used price. $38 taxes included. Let me just take a moment to give these guys a plug for any locals out there looking for used games. NEX (Niagara Entertainment Exchange) on Lakeshore Rd. in St. Catharines. The prices are the best in the region, the selection is good, and I’ve never, NEVER paid the sticker price. For example – this game, which is $69.99 new, $49.99 used everywhere else, was $39.99 used here. Instead of charging me tax, he knocked two bucks off. How can you beat that?

The Great Toys’R’Us Trip – Four games from Toys’R’Us thanks to their awesome Buy One, Get One Free promotion;

Paper Mario: The Thousand Year Door – Somebody got peanut butter in my chocolate!!! A Mario RPG? Really? REALLY? Ok – it’s not that big a shock if you’re a gamer, but considering that I haven’t played either of its predecessors (Super Mario RPG or Paper Mario) it’s a pretty new and daunting experience. So daunting, in fact, that I’ve been unable to commit to spending the $60 (and then later after the price drop, $30) to score a copy out due to the unwavering fear that I’d hate it, despite how desperately I’ve wanted it. Now all I have to do is get my Gamecube controllers back from a friend of mine so that I can get cracking on this one.

Animal Crossing – I have trouble explaining Animal Crossing to my wife. She plays World of Warcraft religiously, and the only comparison I can make is “it’s kinda like WoW, except without the fighting…or social aspect… You know those annoying fetch quests in WoW that annoy the fuck out of you because you just want to be social and kill things? Well that’s Animal Crossing!” I should totally be VP of Sales for Nintendo.

Sly Cooper – It seems like this game has been out since the dawn of time, and I’ve been wanting to play it even longer than that. Somehow though, I’ve never gotten around to picking it up. I totally dig cel-shading (despite how it seems to be a long dead fad now), and like any gamer worth his weight in quarters, I love a good platformer. Looking very forward to this one.

Shadow of the Colossus – From the makers of Ico, a game that instantly causes all game critics to explode in their pants despite it’s glaring flaws, comes a game that’s essentially a series of boss battles that are supposed to create an epic sense of scale. My feelings on this are the inverse of my feelings for Paper Mario. Every part of my says I don’t want to play this game, and yet there’s this overwhelming feeling that I’ll really be missing out on something special if I don’t.

360 Controller – I only had one. It already had a button that was failing (LB). It was time to pass the first one on to the wife for the occasional two player game and score myself a new one. Grabbed a 360 battery pack for it too since I already have a Play’n’Charge Kit for the first one.

Arrested Development/Married With Children – Hey waittaminnit – these aren’t games!! Ok, ok.. They’re DVD’s, but let’s face it, did you really want a separate post for two lousy DVD’s, or did you want me to put them in here? Let’s face it, they’re all going in the 360 eventually anyway. I’m a huge Arrested fan (and you should be too, sinner) and I’ve been meaning to grab the third and final (/tear) season since it came out a few weeks ago. Luckily I was able to score a supposedly used copy for only $14. I say supposedly because when I got home I discovered that the case itself (not the paper case around it) was still sealed in plastic. Sweet! But Married With Children? Face it, it was one of the greatest shows in television history. It was the last time mean comedy was allowed on the air. I miss it. I love it. I’m glad I’m collecting it. I grabbed Season 5 even though I’m missing Season 4. Not for any good reason – I just didn’t come across Season 4 in my travels and I was really in the mood to watch some MwC when I came across this set.

Ok – that was a whole hell of a lot. And what’s worse, there’s more. I’ve also imported a game that’s on it’s way from Japan as we speak. And rented a few too. I think I’ll spare you all and save those for another post.

And with that, I’m off to game. 🙂


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oooh, look at me with the comments today. I so want to play that guitar game!! And I think I’ve asked you this a thousand times, but can I have a copy of the pic of Julia and I with the drum game thingy?? That game was mad cool.

Comment by Jenifesto

Your wish is my command.

Taiko pics of you and Juliabear on flickr

Comment by jimmycanuck

Yay!! Thanks!

Comment by Jenifesto




Leave a comment